X
previous
next
Recent Viewed
X

Recently Viewed Works

Fr | Εn
 
MERCHER
MERCHER
Nationality: French
Info about the artist +

"My painting is at the crossroads of the world of yesterday and tomorrow, of the ancestral and the modern. Between architecture and nature, I seek balance through the force of the imagination."

French painter born in 1970, Ludovic Mercher has exhibited for twenty years. He began with modeling in the 90s. Soon, he worked with black pencils in the hyperrealistic style as well as oil painting of still lifes. After this technical research, he began to ground the foundations of his current style in the early 2000s. In a search for purity, he combined red and black acrylic with Japanese newsprint. This latter material allows him to reconstruct his own calligraphy, playing with signs and senses in a surrealist collage "geometrized" to the point of abstraction. He exhibited at the gallery of the National School of Fine Arts in Paris and his work was acquired by the HSBC bank.

In 2006 he set up his personal studio in Paris and, strongly influenced by architecture, he took the city as his main inspiration. At first with the constant concern for graphic strength, then by confronting its structures with the landscape and nature. Sacred mountains, wind turbines and seascapes will compete with high cities.

Personal exhibitions and fairs (Affordable Art Fair, GMAC) follow one another. Several French and Belgian galleries are starting to exhibit his paintings: Paris, Bordeaux, Grasse, Strasbourg, Louvain-la-Neuve.

In 2013, Ludovic Mercher decided to live in the West of France and set up his workshop in the heart of nature, not far from the sea. This new openness to space and nature inspires him vanishing points in all kinds of visions. architectural, projects integrating structures and volumes. His new paintings draw the contours of utopias. They also integrate his research on the play of materials and textures (vegetable and mineral, liquid and solid). This painting sometimes imbued with the fantastic, Ludovic Mercher conceives it with an imaginary in perpetual construction, always in movement, with for obsession the straight line confronted with the landscape. His works are now in international collections in the United States, Germany, Switzerland, Italy, Spain and in the United Kingdom.

 

Artist Portfolio

 
Load More

X
previous
next
Recent Viewed
X

Dernières oeuvres consultées

Fr | Εn
 
MERCHER
MERCHER
Nationalité: Française
Informations sur l'artiste +

Ma peinture est au croisement du monde d'hier et de demain, de l'ancestral et du moderne. Entre architecture et nature, je recherche l'équilibre par la force de l’imaginaire.»
Peintre français né en 1970, Ludovic Mercher expose depuis une vingtaine d'années. Il commence par le modelage dans les années 90. Rapidement, il s’essaye aux crayons noirs dans le style hyperréaliste ainsi qu’à l’huile avec des natures mortes. Passé ces recherches techniques, il commence à poser les bases de son style actuel dès le début des années 2000. Dans une recherche d'épure, il associe l'acrylique rouge et noire avec du papier journal japonais. Ce dernier matériau lui permet de reconstruire sa propre calligraphie, jouant des signes et des sens en un collage surréaliste « géométrisé » jusqu’à l’abstraction. Il expose à la galerie de l'Ecole Nationale des Beaux Arts à Paris et son travail fait l'objet d'acquisition par la banque HSBC.

En 2006 il installe son premier atelier personnel en région parisienne et, fortement influencé par l’architecture, il va prendre la ville pour thème. Dans un premier temps avec le souci constant de la force graphique. Dans un deuxième temps en confrontant ses structures au paysage et à la nature. Montagnes sacrées, éoliennes et paysages marins vont rivaliser avec de hautes cités. La dualité s’installe : ce sont deux imaginaires qui cherchent à s’équilibrer dans un monde où notre rapport au milieu vacille. Un monde où les espaces naturels sont redéfinis par la civilisation et la technologie. Expositions personnelles et salons (Affordable Art Fair, GMAC) s’enchaînent. Plusieurs galeries françaises et belges commencent à exposer ses toiles : Paris, Bordeaux, Grasse, Strasbourg, Louvain-la-Neuve.

En 2013, Ludovic Mercher décide de vivre dans la Région Grand Ouest en France et installe son atelier en pleine nature, non loin de la mer. Cette nouvelle ouverture vers l'espace et la nature lui inspire des points de fuite dans toutes sortes de visions architecturales, projets intégrant structures et volumes. Ses nouvelles toiles dessinent les contours d'utopies. Elles intègrent aussi ses recherches sur les jeux de matières et textures (végétal et minéral, liquide et solide). Cette peinture parfois empreinte de fantastique, Ludovic Mercher la conçoit avec un imaginaire en perpétuelle construction, toujours en mouvement, avec pour obsession la ligne droite confrontée au paysage. Ses oeuvres sont aujourd'hui acquises par des collectionneurs internationaux : Etats-Unis, Allemagne, Suisse, Italie, Espagne ou Royaume-Uni.

 

Toutes les Oeuvres de l'Artiste

 
Afficher plus